The old bike trail was covered with thick undergrowth. It had been a good idea when we started on foot, but now I had an uneasy feeling about the place. The forest was unusually quiet, the air felt too thick. I followed Al as quickly as I could, not allowing much distance between us.

We came to a clearing between the trees. I dropped my backpack and slumped against a tree, exhausted. Al dropped down beside me.

“That’s funny,” he pointed to a tree where a bike was tangled high in its branches.

“How did it get there?” I asked nervously.

“Probably some weirdo trying to scare off hikers,” he shrugged.

A sudden gust of wind blew hair into my eyes. Then we heard the most agonising groan as the earth slowly tipped, throwing us against the trees.

Arms flailing I tried to grab at anything as the forest turned upside down.

I held on to a branch, my legs dangled towards the sky. I screamed as I watched our backpacks disappear into the dark blue below.

Al was calling out to me. He was shaking me.

“Wake up! It’s just a nightmare.”

Opening my eyes I found him looking at me with concern. We were in our tent. I trembled with relief.He held me as I sobbed until we fell asleep.

We set out down the old bike trail early. I was nervous. My uneasiness increased as we reached a clearing in the forest.

“That’s weird,” Al said as he pointed to a tree where a bike was tangled in its branches.

I started to scream even as I heard the agonising groan.

“Hush, it’s just a nightmare,” Al’s voice was soothing, as he cradled me in his arms.
Opening my eyes I saw to my relief that we were still in our tent.

“We need to get out of here, NOW!” I insisted.

“It’s still too early,” he protested.

I broke free from him and started packing frantically.

We trudged down the old bike trail as the sun was just rising.

I felt the panic as we reached a clearing in the forest.

“Look,” Al pointed at…

